Activities

BRANCH ACTIVITIES – OWNQ

With the continuing concerns about COVID-19, if you are not sure whether a meeting or activity is going ahead, please contact the Branch Convenor.

If you are thinking of attending an activity at a branch you don’t usually go to, please contact the Branch Convenor beforehand, as a courtesy to check details of the activity or meeting.

BRIBIE ISLAND

Meets third Thursday each month.  10.00 am to 12.00 noon. Anzac Room, Bribie Island RSL Club, 99 Toorbul Street, Bongaree.  Contact: Betty 0409 470 100 

Branch Activities
Thursday 7th September – Train to Roma Street Parklands Garden Room morning tea and lunch and free tour of Spectacle Garden
Thursday 21st September – Branch meeting with guest speaker Jodie Doe (HISC) “Avoiding Hospitalisation”
Thursday 5th October – Morning Tea 10.00 am at The Coffee Club
Thursday 2nd November – Ladies Race Day @ Bribie Golf Club, lunch/sweeps/Op Shop/Fashions on the Field after OP Shop
Thursday 16th November – Branch meeting – Christmas decorations or Photobooks
Thursday 7th December – Christmas luncheon, Bribie Bowls Club
Thursday 21st December – Review 2023 and Planning 2024, games and grocery grab

Contact Betty for more information.

BURNIE BRAE

Meets second Thursday of each month, 9.30 a.m.   Burnie Brae Community Centre, 60 Kuran Street, Chermside.  Contact: OWN Qld 3358 2301

Branch Activities
Thursday 14th September – Discussion Group
Thursday 11th October – Discussion Group
Thursday 9th November – Discussion Group

Contact:  OWNQ Office for more information

CABOOLTURE

Meets first Thursday each month, 10.30 a.m.   Sports Central Caboolture, cnr Hasking St & Beerburrum Road, Caboolture   Contact: Gwen 0414 246 749

Branch Activities
Thursday 7th September – Library Services Caboolture Guest Speaker
Thursday 5th October – Guest Speaker Nutritionist Cathie “Health and Nutrition for Older Women”
Thursday 2nd November – Branch Meeting at Sports Central
Thursday 7th December – Branch meeting – end-of year breakup – Christmas Theme
Thursday 21 December  – Coffee & Chat
Thursday 18 January 2024 – New Year Catch Up Coffee & Chat
Thursday 1st February 2024 – First General Meeting for 2024

Contact:   Gwen 0414 246 749 for details

CAPALABA

Meets  1st  Wednesday of the month.   9.00 – 11.30 am. Capalaba Uniting Church Hall, Cnr Ney Road and Zandra Street, Capalaba. Contact: Naomi 0424 060 603.

Branch Activities

Wednesday 6th September – Branch meeting – U3A
Wednesday 20th September – Morning Tea at Indigiscapes, Capalaba
Saturday 23rd September – Here’s to Life Concert
Wednesday 4th October – Branch meeting – activity to be advised
Friday 20th October – Lunch at Costa’s Seafood Cafe, 1B/108 Old Cleveland Road, Capalaba 11.30 a.m.
Monday 23rd October – OWN Qld AGM hosted by State Office at New Farm Library
Wednesday 1st November – Branch Meeting – Melbourne Cup & Mini Market Day
Wednesday 15th November – Morning Tea picnic at Wentworht Drive Park at Capalaba
Wednesday 6th December – Christmas luncheon, MacLeay Island Bowls Club
Wednesday 20th December – Informal catch up before Christmas break (check details with the Convenor)
Wednesday 17th January 2024 – First meeting for 2024, Guest Speaker from Transit Care.

 

Contact Naomi for more information.

GYMPIE

Meets fortnightly on Thursday. 9.15 am – 12.00 noon on pension week. Gympie & District Indoor Bowls Association, 35 Graham Street Gympie.
Contact: Marilyn 0409 256 603

Branch Activities

Friday 6th October – Craft Group
Thursday 12th October – Branch Meeting
Friday 20th October – Craft Group
Thursday 26th October – Branch Meeting
Friday 3rd November – Craft Group
Thursday 9th October – Branch Meeting
Friday 17th November – Craft Group
Thursday 23rd November – Branch Meeting
Thursday 7th December – last Branch Meeting for 2023
Friday 15th December – last Craft group gathering for 2023
Friday 12th January 2024 – Craft group resumes
Thursday 18th January 2024 –  Branch Meeting with a Green and Gold theme

Contact Marilyn for more information.

IPSWICH

Meets Third Wednesday each month  10.00am-12.00 noon,  Elim Village, 123 Cemetery Road, Raceview
Contact: Nori 0490 806 523

Branch Activities

Wednesday, 20th September – Branch meeting
Wednesday, 18th October – Branch meeting
Wednesday, 15th November – Branch meeting
Wednesday 20th December – Christmas party at the usual venue
Wednesday 17th January 2024 – Regular Branch Meeting

In addition to the regular branch meeting, Ipswich Branch has a Social Morning Tea on the second Tuesday of each month and a Social Lunch on the last Friday of each month. We also have a Novice Walking group which walks every Wednesday (except for the 3rd Wednesday of the month, meeting day) alongside the Bremer River from Bob Gamble Water Park starting at 9.30am & then over to Riverlink for an informal coffee/ tea & chat meeting at Doughnut King at 10.30am.  One of our members, Helen has recently started up a Book Club for Ipswich branch called Books and Banter which meets every second Monday at 2.00 pm at Chapters Bookshop & Cafe, Karalee Shopping Village.

Contact Nori for more information

LUTWYCHE

Meets Third Wednesday each month  10.00. QATSIF, Unit 2, 439 Lutwyche Road, Lutwyche
Contact: Carol 0417 703 550 or Dianne 0435 370 092

Branch Activities

Wednesday 18th October – CHANGE OF ARRANGEMENTS – Meet at 9.45 a.m. at the Dendy Theatre Portside for preview of the movie “Nyad”.  PLEASE DO NOT GO TO QATSIF as no one will be there.
Wednesday, 1st November –  Social activity 10.00 a.m. Club 63, Stafford City Shopping Centre for Coffee and Chat.
Wednesday 15th November – Branch meeting with guest speaker – a  Fireman from Kedron to talk about Fire Safety in the Home.
Wednesday, 6th December – Christmas party, 12.00 noon Everton Park Hotel.  No official meeting in December.
Wednesday 24th January, 2024 – Recommencing with Branch Meeting after the Christmas break.

Contact Carol or Dianne for more information.

MACKAY

Meets each Tuesday.  9.30 am to 12 noon. PCYC, Scriha Street, North Mackay. Contact: Helen on 0400 424 649 or Ruth 0432 686 970. All events are located at the PCYC Hall, unless otherwise indicated (eg bus trips).

Branch Activities

Tuesday 3rd October – Guest speaker from Footprints, talking about homelessness and housing
Tuesday 10th October – Living life with a politician!
Tuesday 17th October – Surprise presentation by a member
Tuesday 24th October – Healthy Hearts – exercises
Tuesday 31st October – Bring items to “give away”
Tuesday 7th November – Melbourne Cup Luncheon
Tuesday 14th November – “Where to from here?”
Tuesday 21st November – Grocery Grab
Tuesday 28th November – Sing-a-long
Tuesday 5th December – Concert
Tuesday 12th December – Christmas Lunch

Contact Helen or Ruth for more information.

MAROOCHYDORE

Meets third Monday each month, 1.00-3.00 p.m.  The Avenue Retirement Community, 32 Baden Powell Street, Maroochydore.  Contact: Lee 0429 831 414

Branch Activities
Monday 16th October – Branch Meeting
Monday 20th November – Branch Meeting

Contact:  Lee for information about upcoming activities.

MITCHELTON

Meets 4th Wednesday of each month. 10.00 am – 12.00 noon. Arana Leagues Club Panther’s Den, 247 Dawson Parade, Keperra. Branch meetings cost $5.00 to attend.  Coffee/tea/lunch activities at member’s own expense Contact:  Karen 0411 033 892

Branch Activities

Wed 27th September – Monthly Meeting, Guest speaker Pam Berry, Family History, followed by coffee/lunch.. Meeting cost $5.00
Tue 3rd October –  Coffee, Kakowan Koffee, Jinker Track, Bunya, 10am
Tue 10th October –  Coffee, Cafe Lagarto, Samford Valley, 10am
Sat 14th October –  Lunch, Gaythorne RSL, 12pm
Tues 17th October – Coffee, Hornets, Graham Road, Carseldine  10am
Sat 21st October – Coffee, Birds & Bees, Everton Hills, 10am

WOODY POINT

Meets  2nd Tuesday each month. 9.30 – 11.30 am at the Woody Point Memorial Hall,  Oxley Avenue, Woody Point.  Social gathering every 4th Tuesday each month.  Contact: Helen 0418 796 365

Branch Activities
Tuesday 12th September – Branch Meeting at Hall
Tuesday 10th October – Branch Meeting at Hall
Tuesday 14th November – Branch Meeting at Hall
Tuesday 12th December – Christmas lunch and break-up for the holidays
Tuesday 13th February 2024 – First meeting for 2024 at the usual venue.

Contact Helen for more information.

WYNNUM-MANLY

Meets third Wednesday each month or as outlined below each month at Wynnum Library (above Woolworths) unless otherwise advised in activities.

Wednesday 13th September – Branch meeting, speaker Paul Hobbs, Caring Cuisine
Wednesday 20th September – outing to Roma Street Parklands
Wednesday 4th October – Coffee morning at Frenchies Cafe, 142 Bay Tc, Wynnum Central 10.30 a.m.
Wednesday 18th October – Branch Meeting, guest speaker Joan Pease, State MP for Lytton
Wednesday 15th November – Branch Meeting, guest speaker Claire Moore, OWNQ Ambassador
Wednesday 22nd November – Coffee morning 10.30 a.m. at Caffeination Station, Tingal Rd, Wynnum (beside Wynnum RSL)
Wednesday 6th December – Lord Mayor’s Christmas party, 1.00 p.m., at City Hall
Wednesday 13th December – Christmas lunch, Wynnum Manly Leagues Club 11.30 am for 12 midday.
Wednesday 17th January 2024 – Coffee morning, 10.30 a.m. at Fielders, 35 Bognor Road, Tingalpa
Tuesday 6th February 2024 – Coffee morning, 10.30 a.m. at Huxley Coffee House, Home Centre 261 New Cleveland Road, Tingalpa
Wednesday 21st February 2024 – Branch meeting, guest speaker Jan nary, Playwriter

For more information, contact Michele on 0412 870 723