Activities

BRANCH ACTIVITIES – OWNQ

With the continuing concerns about COVID-19, if you are not sure whether a meeting or activity is going ahead, please contact the Branch Convenor.

If you are thinking of attending an activity at a branch you don’t usually go to, please contact the Branch Convenor beforehand, as a courtesy to check details of the activity or meeting.

BRIBIE ISLAND

Meets third Thursday each month.  10.00 am to 12.00 noon. Anzac Room, Bribie Island RSL Club, 99 Toorbul Street, Bongaree.  Contact: Betty 0409 470 100 

Branch Activities
Thursday 19th January – Australia Day themed social activity, RSL Social Cafe
Thursday 2nd February – Social outing to visit Caboolture branch, Sports Central Caboolture 10.15 am followed by lunch from 12.00 noon
Thursday 16th February – Branch meeting with guest speaker Caroline Jamieson “Your Life Your Words – Memories and Memoirs”
Thursday 2nd March – Coffee morning 10.00 am at Bribie Beach Shack, Sandstone Point
Thursday 16th March – Branch meeting with guest speaker Greg Spencer (Volunteer Policing) “Personal/Home Security”
Thursday 6th April – Mini golf 9.00 am and morning tea, Pacific Harbour Gold and Country Club
Thursday 20th April – Branch meeting with guest speaker Diane Carter from Probus “Life and Other Animals”
Thursday 4th May – Fourth Birthday lunch at 12.00 noon, Bribie Island Hotel.
Thursday 11th May – Social activity Mothers Day celebrations 2.00 pm afternoon tea & art with Bette @ Bolton Clarke Village
Thursday 18th May – Branch meeting Birthday Fun, entertainment by Bribie Island Bush Poets
Thursday 1st June – Entertainment (Cathy Drummond) & Lunch 11.30 am – 2.30 pm @ The Sands, 50 Keogh Street Sandgate (car pooling available)
Thursday 15th June – Branch Meeting AGM, guest speaker from MBRC “Plastic Free July/Living a Reduced Plastic Lifestyle”
Thursday 6th July – Christmas in July 12.00 noon at RSL Garden Room
Thursday 20th July – Branch Meeting Plant swap and guest speaker Jill from Brown’s Mitre 10
Wednesday 2nd August – Trip to Eumundi Markets (leaving 9.00 am, closes at 2.00 pm) Car pooling required.
Thursday 17th August – Branch Meeting with guest speaker Leanne from SafeMate “Ultra fast & secure & simple rescue system linked to First Responders”
Thursday 7th September – Train to Roma Street Parklands Garden Room morning tea and lunch and free tour of Spectacle Garden
Thursday 21st September – Branch meeting with guest speaker Jodie Doe (HISC) “Avoiding Hospitalisation”
Thursday 5th October – Morning Tea 10.00 am at The Coffee Club
Date and Venue to be advised – Annual General Meeting
Thursday 2nd November – Ladies Race Day @ Bribie Golf Club, lunch/sweeps/Op Shop
Thursday 16th November – Branch meeting – Christmas decorations or Photobooks
Thursday 7th December – Christmas luncheon, Bribie Bowls Club
Thursday 21st December – Review 2023 and Planning 2024, games and grocery grab

Contact Betty for more information.

BURNIE BRAE

Meets second Thursday of each month, 9.30 a.m.   Burnie Brae Community Centre, 60 Kuran Street, Chermside.  Contact: Tee 0427 698 781

Branch Activities
Thursday 12th January – Regular meeting of Discussion Group at Burnie Brae at 9.30 a.m.
Thursday 26th January – Social activity at Burnie Brae Cafe at 9.30 a.m.

Contact: Tee for more information

CABOOLTURE

Meets first Thursday each month, 10.15 a.m.   Sports Central Caboolture, cnr Hasking St & Beerburrum Road, Caboolture   Contact: Margaret 0413 509 353

Branch Activities
Thursday 19th January:  Coffee morning 10.00 a.m. Coffee Club, Morayfield Shopping Centre, near Target.
Thursday 2nd February:  Branch Meeting 10.30am. Sports Central Caboolture cnr Haskins St and Beerburrum Road Caboolture
Thursday 16th February:  Op Shopping at Bribie Island and Lunch at RSL.We will be carpooling leaving Sport Central Caboolture by 10am. Taking numbers at the 2nd February branch meeting.

Contact:  Margaret for more information

CAPALABA

Meets  1st  Wednesday of the month.   9.00 – 11.30 am. Capalaba Uniting Church Hall, Cnr Ney Road and Zandra Street, Capalaba. Contact: Naomi 0424 060 603.

Branch Activities

Our next meeting will be on the Wednesday 1st February where we will be celebrating our 8th birthday. The theme for the morning is “bad taste” dress ups. So let’s see how creative we can be.

Contact Naomi for more information.

GYMPIE

Meets fortnightly on Thursday. 9.15 am – 12.00 noon on pension week. Gympie & District Indoor Bowls Association, 35 Graham Street Gympie.
Contact: Marilyn 0409 256 603

Branch Activities
Thursday 19th January 2023:  Meeting and Social morning tea

Craft Mornings
Friday 13th January 2023:  Craft group recommences for 2023.

Contact Marilyn for more information.

LUTWYCHE

Meets Third Wednesday each month  10.00. QATSIF, Unit 2, 439 Lutwyche Road, Lutwyche
Contact: Carol 0417 703 550 or Dianne 0435 370 092

Branch Activities

Wednesday, 1st February:   Tour of the Brisbane Opal Museum at 201 Lutwyche Rd, Windsor at 10.30am
Wednesday, 15th February: Monthly meeting with guest speaker, Stephanie Hinrichs, Secretary of Care Kits for Kids Qld Inc who organise  kits for foster children Wednesday, 1st March:  11am in Elizabeth St, City  – Cross River Rail Experience
Wednesday, 15th March: Monthly meeting with guest speaker, Denis Wayper who will talk to us about the life of Dame Joan Sutherland.

Contact Carol or Dianne for more information.

MACKAY

Meets each Tuesday.  9.30 am to 12 noon. PCYC, Scriha Street, North Mackay. Contact: Helen on 0400 424 649 or Ruth 0432 686 970. All events are located at the PCYC Hall, unless otherwise indicated (eg bus trips).

Branch Activities
Tuesday 24th January – Branch meeting

Contact Helen or Ruth for more information.

MAROOCHYDORE

Meets third Monday each month, 1.00-3.00 p.m.  The Avenue Retirement Community, 32 Baden Powell Street, Maroochydore.  Contact: Lee 0429 831 414

Branch Activities

Monday 16th January: Branch Meeting Catch up
Monday 6th  February:  Social  activity BBQ and get together, Fisherman’s Park Maroochydore
Monday 20th February: Branch Meeting with guest speaker Katrina on technology assistance
6th or 8th  March (date to be confirmed):   Social International Women’s Day trip to Gympie on 6th or Breakfast on the 8th at Novotel
Monday 20th  Branch: Branch Meeting with guest speaker Jocelyn from Relationships Australia
Monday 3rd April:  Social Cancer Care lunch and proceeds of raffle to be donated, Buderim Bloomhill Well Being Centre
Monday 17th April:  Branch Meeting with guest speaker from Moving Moments
Wednesday 3rd May Social Mother’s Day Secrets on the Lake, Montville
Monday 15th May: Branch Meeting with guest speaker Natalie from Maroochydore Neighbourhood Centre about the Sleeping Bus
Wednesday 24th May:   Interbranch Catchup Mitchelton Branch Arana Leagues Club 247 Dawson Pde Keperra 4054
Monday 5th June:  Social at La Balsa park, walk and morning tea
Monday 19th June:  Branch Meeting Maroochydore Branch  Birthday lunch with Bribie and Gympie branches
Monday 3rd July Social to be advised
Monday 17th July:   Branch Meeting Maroochydore AGM (to be confirmed)
Saturday 1st July: Johnny Cash and June Carter tribute show, Caloundra Events Centre

Contact:  Lee for information about upcoming activities.

MITCHELTON

Meets 4th Wednesday of each month. 10.00 am – 12.00 noon. Arana Leagues Club Panther’s Den, 247 Dawson Parade, Keperra. Branch meetings cost $5.00 to attend.  Coffee/tea/lunch activities at member’s own expense Contact:  Karen 0411 033 892

Branch Activities

Tuesday 3rd January:     Techno Coffee Leagues Club Coffee 10am
Tuesday 10th January:    Coffee Cafe Lagarto Samford Valley  10am
Saturday 14th January:      Lunch  Gaythorne RSL 12pm
Tuesday 17th January:    Techno Coffee Arana Leagues Club 10am
Saturday 21st January: Coffee Birds & Bees Cafe, Everton Hills  10am
Wednesday 25th January: Monthly Meeting 10am, Guest Speaker Carolyn Schaedter-Richards  ADA (Australian Disability Advocacy) followed by Coffee/Lunch
Tuesday 31st January:   Techno Coffee Hornet’s Club, Carseldine 10am
Tuesday 7th February :  Kakawan Coffee  10am
Saturday 11th February: Lunch   Gaythorne RSL 12pm
Tuesday 14th February:  Coffee  Cafe Lagarto Samford Valley 10am
Saturday 18th February:  Coffee Birds & Bees Cafe, Everton Hills 10am
Wednesday 22nd February:   Monthly Meeting 10am, Guest Speaker Caxton Legal Service   Helen Wallace/Sun-Lyn Lee (EPOA) followed by Coffee/Lunch.
Sun 26th February:  Act 1 Theatre, Strathpine 2pm matinee (book with Hilary)
Tuesday 28th February:  Techno Coffee Arana Leagues Club 10am
Tuesday 7th March: Kakawan Coffee
Saturday 11th March: Lunch   Gaythorne RSL 12pm
Tuesday 14th March:  Coffee Cafe Lagarto, Samford Valley 10am
Saturday 18th March:  Coffee Birds & Bees, Everton Hills  10am
Wednesday 22nd March: Monthly Meeting 10am, Guest Speaker Rana Jewell “Stretching for Flexibility” followed by Coffee/Lunch.
Tuesday 28th March:  Techno Coffee Arana Leagues Club 10am
Tuesday 4th April: Kakawan Coffee 10am
Saturday 8th April: Lunch RSL Gaythorne 12pm
Tuesday 11th April:  Coffee Cafe Lagarto Samford Valley 10am
Saturday 15th April: Coffee Birds & Bees Cafe, Everton Hills 10am
Tuesday 18th April:  Techno Coffee  Arana Leagues Club 10am
Wednesday 26th April: Monthly Meeting 10am, Guest speaker Stroke Foundation  Lorraine Walker  followed by Coffee/Lunch.

Contact Karen for further information.

MORAYFIELD

Meets third Wednesday each month.  From 2.30 p.m. at Morayfield Senior Rentals, 21-23 Barossa Cres. Caboolture South.  Other activities are also held during the month, including Friday craft mornings, Saturday Indoor Bowls, monthly board games and fortnightly pool exercises.  The branch is planning a walking group as well.  For more information, please contact: June 0411 018 570

Branch Activities

Contact June for information about upcoming activities.

WOODY POINT

Meets  2nd Tuesday each month. 9.30 – 11.30 am at the Woody Point Memorial Hall,  Oxley Avenue, Woody Point.  Social gathering every 4th Tuesday each month.  Contact: Helen 0418 796 365

Branch Activities
Tuesday 14th February – Branch Meeting at Hall
Tuesday 14th March – Branch Meeting at Hall
Tuesday 11th April – Branch Meeting at Hall

Contact Helen for more information.

WYNNUM-MANLY

Wynnum-Manly.   Federation Room, Wynnum Municipal Hall, Bay Terrace, Wynnum from 10.00 a.m.
Contact:   Di (Acting Convenor) on 0411 099 848

Branch Activities

January 27th at 10 am – Morning Tea and Australia Day Celebration at the Wynnum RSL, Tingal Road, Wynnum.
February 1st at 10 am Branch meeting in the Federation Room, with  guest speaker, Bob Walker, who will be talking about SCAMS and how we can protect ourselves.
February 20th  at 10.15 am.  Coffee and catch-up – Show and Tell, at the RSL Club, Tingal Road, Wynnum.
March 1st, Wednesday at 10 am.  Branch meeting at regular venue – guest speaker to be advised.
March 9th, Thursday.  The Wynnum Library is the venue for a presentation by Library staff, especially for us, about the facilities in the library.  

For more information, contact Di on 0411 099 848.