Activities

BRANCH ACTIVITIES – OWNQ

With the continuing concerns about COVID-19, if you are not sure whether a meeting or activity is going ahead, please contact the Branch Convenor.

If you are thinking of attending an activity at a branch you don’t usually go to, please contact the Branch Convenor beforehand, as a courtesy to check details.

BRIBIE ISLAND

Meets third Thursday each month.  10.00 am to 12.00 noon. Anzac Room, Bribie Island RSL Club, 99 Toorbul Street, Bongaree.  Contact: Betty 0409 470 100 

Branch Activities
Thursday 1st September – 18 hole Putt Putt, D/Bay Driving Range and Mini Golf
Thursday 15th September – Fun Day – Trivia
Thursday 6th October – Fish & Chips at The Oyster Shed
Thursday 20th October – OWNQ AGM at Bribie RSL
Thursday 3rd November – Ladies Oaks Day, Bribie Golf Club
Thursday 17th November – Guest Speaker Tom Law, “Importance of movement as we age”
Thursday 1st December – Christmas Luncheon, Bribie Bowls Club
Thursday 15th December – Review 2022 & Planning 2023, Card making, Grocery Grab

Contact Betty  for more information.

BURNIE BRAE

Meets second Thursday of each month, 9.30 a.m.   Burnie Brae Community Centre, 60 Kuran Street, Chermside.  Contact: OWN Qld Office 3358 2301

Branch Activities
Thursday 8th September – Meeting from 9.30 a.m.

Contact:  The Coordinator at OWN Qld office for more information

CABOOLTURE

Meets first Thursday each month, 10.15 a.m.   Sports Central Caboolture, cnr Hasking St & Beerburrum Road, Caboolture   Contact: OWN Qld Office 3358 2301

Branch Activities
Thursday 1st September – Branch meeting 10.15 a.m.

Contact:  The Coordinator at OWN Qld office for more information

CAPALABA

Meets  1st  Wednesday of the month.   9.00 – 11.30 am. Capalaba Uniting Church Hall, Cnr Ney Road and Zandra Street, Capalaba. Contact: Naomi 0424 060 603.

Branch Activities
Wednesday 7th September – Branch meeting – BYO craft day or you may like to learn macrame
Wednesday 21st September – Morning tea – The Farm at Wellington Point 10.00 a.m.
Wednesday 5th October – Branch meeting – Meals for One – Wynnum Manly branch visiting
Thursday 6th October – Aura Holdings Corinda Retirement Expo 10.00 a.m.
Wednesday 19th October – butterfly House Bribie Island (overnight Waterways Hotel)
Thursday 20th October – OWN Qld Annual General Meeting, Bribie Island RSL (Dinner that evening)
Friday 21st October – Lunch Indigiscapes Capalaba 12.00 noon
Wednesday 2nd November – Branch Meeting – Member Profiles
Wednesday 16th November – Morning Tea manly boathouse 10.00 a.m.
Saturday 3rd December – “Swing into Christmas”, Redlands Performing Arts Centre
Wednesday 7th December – Christmas luncheon, Macleay Island Bowls Club

Contact Naomi for more information.

GYMPIE

Meets fortnightly on Thursday. 9.15 am – 12.00 noon on pension week. Gympie & District Indoor Bowls Association, 35 Graham Street Gympie.
Contact: Marilyn 0409 256 603

Branch Activities
Thursday 23rd June – Jack from Blue Care is speaking about their service in our area.
Thursday 7th July –  Election of Branch Officers
Thursday 21st July – Guest Speaker, Michael Caxton, Author
Thursday 4th August – Guest Speaker, Glen Jocumsen from Roadcraft
Thursday 18th August – Guest Speaker , Sue Bramblebee, from Carer Gateway

Craft Mornings
Friday 1st July
Friday 15th July
Friday 29th July
Friday 12th August
Friday 26th August

Contact Marilyn for more information.

LUTWYCHE

Meets Third Wednesday each month  10.00. QATSIF, Unit 2, 439 Lutwyche Road, Lutwyche
Contact: Carol 0417 703 550 or Dianne 0435 370 092

Branch Activities
Wednesday, 20th July 2022 – Guest speaker Michael Nayler, theme NAIDOC  week
Wednesday, 17th August  – Guest speaker Paul Hobbs from Meals on Wheels North West
Wednesday, 21st September  – Branch meeting at QATSIF
Wednesday, 19th October – Branch Meeting at QATSIF (may be cancelled to attend AGM on 20th October)
Wednesday, 16th November – Branch meeting at QATSIF, Guest speaker, Claire Moore, OWN Ambassador and ex-Senator.
Wednesday 7th December – Members only Christmas Lunch – venue to be advised

Contact Carol or Dianne for more information.

MACKAY

Meets each Tuesday.  9.30 am to 12 noon. PCYC, Scriha Street, North Mackay. Contact: Helen on 0400 424 649 or Ruth 0432 686 970. All events are located at the PCYC Hall, unless otherwise indicated (eg bus trips).

Branch Activities
Tuesday 6th September – Funeral Plans
Tuesday 13th September – Coffee and chat (to be confirmed)
Tuesday 20th September – bus trip to Northway Strawberry and Crepes
Tuesday 27th September – Coffee and chat (to be confirmed)
Tuesday 4th October – Travels
Tuesday 11th October – Kalyan House (Homeless Teens)
Tuesday 18th October – Grocery Grab
Tuesday 25th October – Outcomes from the AGM
Tuesday 1st November – to be advised
Tuesday 8th November – to be advised
Tuesday 15th November – to be advised
Tuesday 22nd November – Annette Worth sing-a-long
Tuesday 6th December – Concern (to be confirmed)
Tuesday 13th December – Christmas lunch from 11.30 a.m. at The Grove

Contact Helen or Ruth for more information.

MAROOCHYDORE

Meets third Monday each month, 1.00-3.00 p.m.  The Avenue Retirement Community, 32 Baden Powell Street, Maroochydore.  Contact: Lee 0429 831 414

Branch Activities
Monday 4th July – Social Day – members are going to the Recycle  plant to learn  more about the best way to Recycle
Monday 18th July – Meeting day with Guest Speaker Claire Moore OWNQ Ambassador
Monday 3rd August – Social day outing at the Mary Valley Rattler with the Gympie OWNQ Members
Monday 15th August – Our meeting day and we are having Michael from the Neighbourhood Centre visit.  A soup day and Crusty Bread day.

Contact:  Lee for more information

MITCHELTON

Meets 4th Wednesday of each month. 10.00 am – 12.00 noon. Arana Leagues Club Panther’s Den, 247 Dawson Parade, Keperra.  Contact:  Judith 0431 159 921

Branch Activities

Tuesday 2nd August – Techno Coffee at Arana Leagues Club 10am
Tuesday 9th August – Coffee at Samford Valley Cafe Lagarto 10am
Saturday 13th August – Lunch  at Arana Leagues Club 12pm
Tuesday 16th August – Techno Coffee at Arana Leagues Club 10am
Saturday 20th August – Coffee at Birds & Bees Everton Hills  10am
Wednesday 24th August – Gaythorne RSL Lunch 12pm
Tuesday 30th August – Cafe 63 Stafford City near Hoyts Theatre 10am
Tuesday 6th September – Kakawan Cafe Jinker Track 10am
Saturday 10th September – Lunch at Arana Leagues Club 12pm
Tuesday 13th September –  Coffee at Cafe Lagarto Samford Valley 10am
Saturday 17th September – Coffee  at Birds & Bees, Everton Hills  10am
Tuesday  20th September – Cafe Lagarto Samford Valley 10am
Wednesday 28th September – Lunch Alderley Arms Hotel 12pm
Wednesday 26th October – Branch meeting, Guest Speaker from Stroke Foundation  Ian Therkelsen
Wednesday 23rd November – Branch meeting, Guest Speaker Paul Hobbs, Mitchelton MOW  Services

Contact Judith for further information.

MORAYFIELD

Meets third Wednesday each month.  From 2.30 p.m. at Morayfield Senior Rentals, 21-23 Barossa Cres. Caboolture South.  Other activities are also held during the month, including Friday craft mornings, Saturday Indoor Bowls, monthly board games and fortnightly pool exercises.  The branch is planning a walking group as well.  For more information, please contact: June 0411 018 570

Branch Activities

July 20th – Branch Meeting, Speaker from Aged and Disability Advocacy (ADA)
July 21st – Morning tea at Cafe 10am
July 27th – Crafternoon 2pm
August 3rd – Crafternoon 2pm
August 11th – Tech Connect 2pm
August 17th – Branch meeting 2pm
August 18th – Morning tea at Cafe 10am
August 24th – Crafternoon 2pm
Sept 1st – Crafternoon 2pm
Sept 8th – Tech Connect 2pm
Sept 15th – Morning tea at Cafe 10am
Sept 21st – Branch Meeting, Speaker TBA 2pm
Sept 22nd – Crafternoon 2pm
Sept tba – Abbey Museum

Contact:  June for more information

WOODY POINT

Meets  2nd Tuesday each month. 9.30 – 11.30 am at the Woody Point Memorial Hall,  Oxley Avenue, Woody Point.  Social gathering every 4th Tuesday each month.  Contact: Helen 0418 796 365

Branch Activities
Tuesday 12th July – Branch Meeting at Hall
Tuesday 9th August – Branch Meeting at Hall
Tuesday 13th September – Branch Meeting at Hall

WYNNUM-MANLY

Wynnum-Manly.   Federation Room, Wynnum Municipal Hall, Bay Terrace, Wynnum from 10.00 a.m.
Contact:   Di 0411 099 848

Branch Activities

Monday 18th July – Tour of Wynnum Heritage Ambulance Station, 10.00 a.m.  Coffee/lunch at RSL Club afterwards
Monday 25th July – Show and Tell at RSL Club, Tingal Road, 10.15 a.m. – 12.00 noon
Wednesday 3rd August – Branch Meeting, Guest Speaker to be advised
Friday 9th September – 10.00 a.m. Visit to National Archives of Australia at Cannon Hill. Bookings essential.

For more information, contact Di or visit through their Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/groups/218890579978932.