Activities

BRANCH ACTIVITIES – OWNQ

In 2021, the Older Women’s Network Qld Branches are looking forward to getting back to normal with their meetings and social activities.

If you are thinking of attending an activity at a branch you don’t normally go to, please show some courtesy by contacting the Branch Convenor beforehand, and double-check their meeting or social activity is still going ahead.

BRISBANE BRANCHES (BRISBANE AND SURROUNDS)

WOODY POINT BRANCH

Meets  2nd Tuesday each month. 9.30 – 11.30 am at the Woody Point Memorial Hall,  Oxley Avenue, Woody Point.  Social gathering every 4th Tuesday each month.  Contact: State Office (07) 3358 2301 

Branch Activities
9th February – First Branch Meeting for the year – 6th Birthday Celebrations for the Branch
23rd February – Lunch at Fish on Flinders
9th March – Branch Meeting with guest speaker from Moreton Bay Council Waste Management
23rd March – Branch meeting
13th April – Branch Meeting
27th April – Visiting the beautiful property of Caroline Moss at Deception Bay

CAPALABA BRANCH

Meets  1st  Wednesday of the month.   9.00 – 11.30 am. Capalaba Uniting Church Hall, Cnr Ney Road and Zandra Street, Capalaba. Contact: Naomi 0424 060 603.

Branch Activities
Wednesday 17th February – Morning tea at IndigiScapes
Tuesday 23rd February – Sunset dinner at Lighthouse Park Cleveland 5.30 p.m. sun sets approx. 6.30 p.m.
Wednesday 3rd March – Branch meeting – International Women’s Day, indoor bowls and games
Saturday 6th March – “Here’s to Life” Concert 2.00 p.m.
Monday 8th March – IWD Roma Street Cafe gathering with other OWN Branches
Wednesday 17th March – Morning tea – Kings Country at Thornlands
Tuesday 23rd March – Finish off cards from Ma (Norma) for hospital
Wednesday 7th April – Branch meeting Guest speaker from Bayside Business Group
Wednesday 21st April – Morning tea, venue to be advised.
Tuesday 27th April – Visit aged care home
Wednesday 5th May – Branch meeting, guest speaker My Aged Care
Wednesday 19th May – Morning tea – venue to be advised.
Tuesday 25th May – Sausage sizzle at Capalaba Regional Park

Contact Naomi for more information.

MITCHELTON

Meets 4th Wednesday of each month. 10.00 am – 12.00 noon. Arana Leagues Club Panther’s Den, 247 Dawson Parade, Keperra.  Contact:  Judith 0431 159 921

Branch Activities
Tuesday 2nd February – Techno Coffee Arana Leagues Club 10.00 a.m.
Tuesday 9th February – Zoom meeting 10.00 a.m.
Saturday 13th February – Lunch Arana Leagues Club 12.00 p.m.
Tuesday 16th February – Techno Coffee Arana Leagues Club 10.00 a.m. Club Photos
Wednesday 24th February – Branch Meeting, “Getting to know our members” 10.00 a.m. – 12.00 noon
Tuesday 2nd March – Techno Coffee Arana Leagues Club 10.00 a.m.
Tuesday 9th March – Zoom meeting 10.00 a.m.
Saturday 13th March – Lunch leagues Club 12.00 noon
Tuesday 16th March – Techno Coffee Arana Leagues Club 10.00 a.m.
Wednesday 24th March – Branch meeting – guest speaker Bronwyn Ritchie
Tuesday 30th March – Zoom Meeting 10.00 a.m.
Tuesday 6th April – Techno Coffee Morning Arana Leagues Club 10.00 a.m.
Saturday 10th April – Lunch Arana Leagues Club 12.00 noon
Tuesday 13th April – Zoom meeting 10.00 a.m.
Tuesday 20th April – Techno Coffee Morning Arana Leagues Club 10.00 a.m.
Wednesday 28th April – Branch meeting with “Scams” guest speaker Emily Gould, Seniors Enquiry Line
Wednesday 26th May – Branch meeting, guest speaker on Pain Support
Wednesday 23rd June – Branch meeting, guest speaker on Recycling Moreton Bay Council (to be confirmed)
Wednesday 28th July – Branch meeting, guest speaker Healthy Brain Healthy Body
Wednesday 25th August – Branch Meeting – guest speaker Mocco Wollert Poet
Wednesday 22nd September – Branch meeting, guest speaker from Wellways

Contact Judith for further information.

WYNNUM-MANLY

Wynnum-Manly is the latest branch to be formed.  Details as to when and where they will be meeting to follow.  Contact:  Di 0411 099 848

Next Meeting

Monday 12th April – Meeting in the Federation Room, Municipal Hall, 218 Bay Tce, Wynnum, from 10 am, to make plans for the (B) Older Women’s Network Wynnum Manly group.  Come along and meet everyone and let’s have a chat about plans for this great group. Coffee, tea, and biscuits will be provided and we can chat about regular meetings, morning teas, lunches, movies, visiting St Helena Island, train trips and more.

Contact Di for further information.

REGIONAL AREAS

GYMPIE BRANCH

Meets fortnightly on Thursday. 9.15 am – 12.00 noon on pension week. Gympie & District Indoor Bowls Association, 35 Graham Street Gympie.
Contact: Marilyn 0409 256 603

 Branch Activities
Friday 12th February – Craft morning
Thursday 18th February – Branch meeting – games circuit, Indoor Bowls Club, Graham Street, Gympie
Friday 26th February – Craft morning
Thursday 4th March – Branch meeting – IWD morning tea at Southside Bowls Club, Southside
Friday 12th March – Craft morning
Thursday 18th March – Branch meeting – Talk by Diabetic Nurse/Educator Melissa Bingham, Indoor Bowls Club, Graham Street, Gympie
Friday 26th March – Craft morning
Thursday 1st April – Branch Meeting – Bad Taste Dress Day (COVID Restrictions in Place)
Friday 9th April – Craft morning
Thursday 15th April –  Lunch at the Sports Club for 25th Birthday of Gympie OWN, bookings required.
Friday 23rd April – Craft morning
Thursday 29 April:  Branch meeting – Janessa, a chemist from Malouf Pharmacy, to talk about mixing prescription  medication with over the counter medication.
Friday 7 Mary – Craft morning
Thursday 13 May – Branch Meeting – Talk from the new Gympie Medical transportation group.
Friday 21 May – Craft morning
Thursday 27 May – Morning tea at the Southside Bowls club with barefoot bowls activity.  Cost $10.00 with $5.00 for the bowlers.

Contact Marilyn for more information.

MACKAY BRANCH

Meets each Tuesday.  9.30 am to 12 noon. PCYC, Scriha Street, North Mackay. Contact: Helen on 0400 424 649 or Ruth 0432 686 970. All events are located at the PCYC Hall, unless otherwise indicated (eg bus trips).

Branch Activities

16th February – Branch Meeting
23rd February – Branch Meeting
2nd March – Guest speaker from Library Services
9th March – Celebrating International Women’s Day
16th March – Guest speaker from Mackay Hearing
23rd March – Guest speaker from CQRescue
30th March – Grocery grab
6th April – Coffee and chat
13th April – 25th Birthday Lunch!!

Contact Helen or Ruth for more information.

BRIBIE ISLAND

Meets third Thursday each month.  10.00 am to 12.00 noon. Bribie Island RSL Club, 99 Toorbul Street, Bongaree.  Contact: Betty on 0409 470 100 

Branch Activities
21st January – Reconnecting Lunch 1.00 p.m. at the Botanic Dining Area of the Bribie Island RSL Club
4th February – Movie and lunch (Bluey’s)
18th February – first official 2021 branch meeting in the ANZAC Room at the RSL – guest speaker from HISC Aged Care provider, and game of hoy
4th March – Abbey Museum and Vatahapie Cafe
8th March – OWNQ IWD Morning Tea at Roma Street Parklands
18th March – Meeting at RSL with guests from Aussie Heroes

Contact Betty  for more information.

MAROOCHYDORE

Meets third Monday each month.  1.00 to 3.00 p.m. Maroochy Neighbourhood Centre, 2 Fifth Avenue, Cotton Tree.
Contact: Lee 0429 831 414

Branch Activities
Monday 15th March – Branch meeting
Monday 19th April – Branch meeting

Contact:  OWN Qld State Office for more information.