Activities

BRANCH ACTIVITIES – OWNQ

All Older Women’s Network Qld Branches are back to normal with their meetings and social activities in 2021.

If you are thinking of attending an activity at a branch you don’t usually go to, please contact the Branch Convenor beforehand, and double-check their meeting or social activity is still going ahead.

BRISBANE BRANCHES (BRISBANE AND SURROUNDS)

WOODY POINT BRANCH

Meets  2nd Tuesday each month. 9.30 – 11.30 am at the Woody Point Memorial Hall,  Oxley Avenue, Woody Point.  Social gathering every 4th Tuesday each month.  Contact: Helen 0418 796 365

Branch Activities
13th April – Branch Meeting
27th April – Visiting the beautiful property of Caroline Moss at Deception Bay
11th May – Branch Meeting
8th June – Branch Meeting
13th July – Branch Meeting

CAPALABA BRANCH

Meets  1st  Wednesday of the month.   9.00 – 11.30 am. Capalaba Uniting Church Hall, Cnr Ney Road and Zandra Street, Capalaba. Contact: Naomi 0424 060 603.

Branch Activities
Wednesday 7th April – Branch meeting Guest speaker from Bayside Business Group
Wednesday 21st April – Morning tea, venue to be advised.
Tuesday 27th April – Visit aged care home
Wednesday 5th May – Branch meeting
Wednesday 19th May – 10.00 a.m. Sausage sizzle at Capalaba Regional Park
Wednesday 2nd June – Branch meeting, guest speaker Christine “My Aged Care”
Wednesday 16th June – Morning tea, Manly Boathouse from 10.00 a.m.
Wednesday 7th July – Branch meeting – Tai Chi for Health (wear comfy clothes) – membership renewals
Wednesday 4th August – Branch meeting, guest speaker Trish from Total Hearing and Health
7th or 8th August – Seniors Walk – check with Convenor
Wednesday 18th August – Morning tea, venue to be advised
Wednesday 1st September – Branch meeting – Capalaba’s AGM.  Guest Saalihah Seedat
Saturday 4th September – Caboolture Historical Village
Wednesday 15th September – Morning tea, venue to be advised
Wednesday 6th October – Branch meeting
7th & 8th October – National Conference, Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Wednesday 20th October – Morning tea, venue to be advised
Wednesday 3rd November – Branch meeting
Wednesday 17th November – Morning tea, venue to be advised
Wednesday 1st December – Christmas luncheon, overseas trip to Macleay Island Bowls Club
Wednesday 15th December – Morning tea, if members would like to meet before the Christmas break

Contact Naomi for more information.

MITCHELTON

Meets 4th Wednesday of each month. 10.00 am – 12.00 noon. Arana Leagues Club Panther’s Den, 247 Dawson Parade, Keperra.  Contact:  Judith 0431 159 921

Branch Activities
Tuesday 6th April – Techno Coffee Morning Arana Leagues Club 10.00 a.m.
Saturday 10th April – Lunch Arana Leagues Club 12.00 noon
Tuesday 13th April – Zoom meeting 10.00 a.m.
Tuesday 20th April – Techno Coffee Morning Arana Leagues Club 10.00 a.m.
Wednesday 28th April – Branch meeting with “Scams” guest speaker Emily Gould, Seniors Enquiry Line
Wednesday 26th May – Branch meeting, guest speaker on Pain Support
Tuesday 1st June – Techno Coffee Morning Arana Leagues Club 10.00 a.m.
Tuesday 8th June – Zoom Meeting 10.00 a.m.
Saturday 12th June – Lunch Arana Leagues Club 12.00 p.m.
Tuesday 15th June – Techno Coffee Morning Arana Leagues Club 10.00 a.m.
Wednesday 23rd June – Branch meeting, guest speaker Leonard Whitaker on “Be Connected Technology and Being Out There”
Tuesday 6th July – Techno Coffee Morning Arana Leagues Club 10.00 a.m.
Saturday 10th July – Lunch Arana Leagues Club 12.00 noon
Tuesday 13th July – Zoom meeting 10.00 a.m.
Tueday 20th July – Techno Coffee Morning Leagues Club 10.00 a.m.
Wednesday 28th July – Branch meeting, guest speaker from Bolton Clarke Melinda on “Healthy Brain Healthy Body”
Tuesday 3rd August – Techno Coffee Morning 10.00 a.m. Leagues Club
Tuesday 10th August – Zom meeting 10.00 a.m.
Saturday 14th August – Lunch Arana Leagues Club 12.00 noon
Tuesday 17th August – Techno Coffee Morning Leagues Club 10.00 a.m.
Wednesday 25th August – Branch Meeting – Guest speaker Mocco Wollert Poet
Tuesday 3rd September – Techno Coffee Morning Arana Leagues Club 10.00 a.m.
Tuesday 10th September – Zoom meeting 10.00 a.m.
Saturday 14th September – Lunch Arana Leagues Club 12.00 noon
Tuesday 17th Septembe – Techno Coffee Morning Arana Leagues Club 10.00 a.m.
Wednesday 22nd September – Branch meeting, Guest speaker from Wellways
Wednesday 27th October – Branch meeting, Guest speaker from APMA “How to Handle Chronic Pain”
Wednesday 24th November – Branch meeting, Guest speaker Kelly Ashford MBRC History Talk

Contact Judith for further information.

WYNNUM-MANLY

Wynnum-Manly.   For information about when and where they meet, please contact:   Di  0411 099 848

Upcoming Activities

Thursday 13th May – Wynnum-Manly official branch launch, Fielders Club, Tingalpa from 11.00 a.m.

Wednesday 2nd June – 10.00 a.m. Monty’s (on Glenora Street) for coffee and chat

Thursday 24th June – Film Morning “Buckleys Chance” – Time to be confirmed.  Contact Di if you are interested in attending.

Monday 28th June – From 12.00 noon – Lunch at Ocean Thai Restaurant, 199 Wondall Road, Wynnum West.  Text/email Di if you plan to go.

Wednesday 7th July – Meeting at the Federation Room, downstairs (Bay Tce entry) at 10 am. Discussion, laughs, and more. Come along for morning tea, a chat and more.

Wednesday 14th July – Trip to St Helena Island.

Keep updated about changes to this schedule through their Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/218890579978932 or
contact Di for further information.

REGIONAL AREAS

GYMPIE BRANCH

Meets fortnightly on Thursday. 9.15 am – 12.00 noon on pension week. Gympie & District Indoor Bowls Association, 35 Graham Street Gympie.
Contact: Marilyn 0409 256 603

 Branch Activities
Thursday 1st April – Branch Meeting – Bad Taste Dress Day (COVID Restrictions in Place)
Friday 9th April – Craft morning
Thursday 15th April –  Lunch at the Sports Club for 25th Birthday of Gympie OWN, bookings required.
Friday 23rd April – Craft morning
Thursday 29 April – Branch meeting – Janessa, a chemist from Malouf Pharmacy, to talk about mixing prescription  medication with over the counter medication.
Friday 7 Mary – Craft morning
Thursday 13 May – Branch Meeting – Talk from the new Gympie Medical transportation group.
Friday 21 May – Craft morning
Thursday 27 May – Morning tea at the Southside Bowls club with barefoot bowls activity.  Cost $10.00 with $5.00 for the bowlers.
Friday 4th June – Craft morning
Thursday 10th June – Branch Meeting
Friday 18th June – Craft morning
Thursday 24th June – Branch Meeting
Thursday 8th July – Branch AGM and Election of Officers
Thursday 22nd July – Christmas in July at the RSL for lunch
Thursday 5th August – Grocery grab
Thursday 19th August – Senior Moments from the Members
Thursday 2nd September – possible bus trip – to be confirmed

Contact Marilyn for more information.

MACKAY BRANCH

Meets each Tuesday.  9.30 am to 12 noon. PCYC, Scriha Street, North Mackay. Contact: Helen on 0400 424 649 or Ruth 0432 686 970. All events are located at the PCYC Hall, unless otherwise indicated (eg bus trips).

Branch Activities

6th April – Coffee and chat
13th April – 25th Birthday Lunch!!
18th May – Guest speaker – Citizen of the Year – Her Life and Achievements
25th May – Guest speaker on Scams and Drugs
1st June – Discussion on the construction of a Neighbourhood Hub in the Northern Beaches of Mackay
8th June – Scrabble morning
15th June – To be advised
22nd June – To be advised
29th June – Bus Trip
6th July – School holidays – Coffee and Chat – venue to be advised
13th July – Guest speaker from Australian Hearing

Contact Helen or Ruth for more information.

BRIBIE ISLAND

Meets third Thursday each month.  10.00 am to 12.00 noon. Anzac Room, Bribie Island RSL Club, 99 Toorbul Street, Bongaree.  Contact: Betty 0409 470 100 

Branch Activities
17th June – Meeting (Branch AGM) and guest speaker “Helping Prevent Dementia”
1st July – Morning tea at Vatahapie Cafe
15th July – Branch Meeting
5th August – Visit to Abbey Museum
19th August – Branch Meeting
2nd September – Bus trip to Summerland Camels
16th September – Branch Meeting with guest speaker from BIEPA (Turtles)
7th October – Visit to Caboolture Historical Village
7th/8th October – NOWN National Conference (Stamford Plaza Brisbane)
21st October – Branch Meeting
4th November – Oaks Day Lunch at Charlie’s (Op shop Fashions on the Field)
18th November – Branch Meeting
2nd December – Christmas Luncheon at the Bribie Island RSL
16th December – Branch Meeting (Review and 2022 Planning) and Grocery Grab
20th January 2022 – Reconnecting Lunch – welcoming the new year

Contact Betty  for more information.

MORAYFIELD

Meets third Wednesday each month.  From 2.30 p.m. at Morayfield Senior Rentals, 21-23 Barossa Cres. Caboolture South.  Contact: June 0411 018 570

Branch Activities
Wednesday 16th June – Branch Meeting
Wednesday 7th July – Pamper day at Katrina’s Salon
Wednesday 21st July – Branch meeting with guest speaker Caron about “Aged Care”

Contact:  June for more information

MAROOCHYDORE

Meets third Monday each month.  1.00 to 3.00 p.m. Maroochy Neighbourhood Centre, 2 Fifth Avenue, Cotton Tree.
Contact: Lee 0429 831 414

Branch Activities
Monday 19th April – Branch meeting
Monday 17th May – Branch meeting
Monday 21st June – Branch meeting
Monday 19th July – Branch meeting – “Soup Day”

Contact:  Lee for more information